Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Breakfast With Grumpy Fox

It’s time to leave the campsite and go home. This is my last breakfast - in the shade. I did most of my packing up before it got too hot. It’s another scorcher, but not as hot as it will be next week in the UK, and not as hot as it is most weeks in Denver - where I’ll be going again in a couple of days.

Grumpy Fox is one of my favourite camping mugs! He always has something to be grumpy about - today it was having to leave the campsite and go home! But I’m sure we’ll be on another trip soon!

I said goodbye to my Alphard camping buddies - Barbara also left today, but one couple are staying another couple of days. This has been a fun trip!

I’ve been having problems with my leisure battery (which powers the fridge, lights and 12V/USB sockets). Everything is fine when on electric hookup at a campsite, but it doesn’t hold its charge and doesn’t seem to charge up as I drive which it should. Normally I can survive 3-4 days without electric hookup, the fridge being the biggest issue.

So I stopped in Swindon on the way home to have someone look at it. I was given their name by one of the other Alphard owners who was at the Castle Combe event on Saturday. They were happy to see me at short notice and were extremely helpful. It’s still to be decided whether I need a new battery or not. I’ll monitor it after a couple of small adjustments and suggestions. I may end up getting a fitted roof-top solar panel as well. It’s a big expense I haven’t wanted to make, but probably worth it. I’m very happy to have found someone relatively close to home, who is happy to work on a Campervan that was converted by someone else - not to be taken for granted!

I am also very happy to have such good Air-con in Alfie!! Especially since I was driving in the hottest part of the day! I was nice and cool the whole way home!

Catching up with blips! Feel free to scroll back if you wish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.