Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Wimbledon!

After all the excitement (and noise!) at Castle Combe racetrack yesterday, I was happy chilling out at the peaceful campsite just outside of Lacock. Maybe chilled is the wrong word on such a hot day, but thankfully it DID feel cool in the shade.

The morning actually started with me making a big frittata in my Remoska oven and having 3 of the other Alphard members over for breakfast, before one couple left on their next camping adventure. Another couple left for home today and the other couple are staying for a few days but went off on their bikes this morning.

Barbara is in her Alphard next to me and she and I just stayed on-site, although we had a short walk around lunchtime and got way too hot. Barbara had things to do around her van, and I got engrossed in the Wimbledon men’s final and was able to watch the whole thing on my iPad. I don’t particularly care for either of the players, but I’m glad Djokovic won - at least he doesn’t throw temper tantrums on court. Kyrgios makes McEnroe look like a cherub!!

Half way through the match Barbara asked if I’d like some ice-cream! That helped me keep chilled even more! If I’d thought ahead I would have picked up some strawberries and cream to keep to the Wimbledon tradition, but I’d never say no to ice cream, even with no strawberries!

We were going to go for a walk into the village after the match, but every time we stepped out of the shade it was still scorching hot, even into the evening. So we decided to stay cool and each made our own dinner. Later on we invited the other Alphard owners over for dessert - sticky toffee pudding made in the Remoska (thanks to Charlie Bingham!) with lashings of custard. We were even treated to a beautiful evening sky! Probably too many calories consumed on a no-exercise day, but otherwise a perfect relaxing day. See Extra photo for a few more shots from today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.