Party litter

I hadn't walked down Xwaaqw'um for a few days and was missing it, so off I went, early again. It was warm, but not too warm, in the sun and cool in the shade, perfect. Even more perfect was that I had the place to myself until I got back to the road. I heard a woman cough but didn't see her then saw a couple with a dog getting out of their car at the beginning of the main trail. Just me and the birds, bliss.
I found this bag of bottles and a can by the old shed and barn. I don't have any problem with people enjoying a drink or two there, but I do object to them leaving their empties behind. We've done a lot of hiking in the backcountry and always packed out whatever we packed in. Nothing worse than finding litter in remote areas - or in parks like this.
I puttered around in the garden for awhile, rearranging a few pots to make watering easier for Bill, then picked beets to take over to Renata. Two more sleeps before we head to the mainland!  Can't wait to see the rest of the family.  Excited!
More terrible news about the discovery of over 160 unmarked graves on the grounds of the former Kuper Island residential school, close to Vancouver Island. I've been to the island (renamed Penelakut Island) and have seen the site of the school, which was demolished in the 1980s. I know members of the Penelakut Tribe and other tribes who attended the school or whose family members attended it. Devastating. Still many more discoveries of unmarked graves likely on the sites of former residential school across Canada.
From an article in the Vancouver Sun on July 13:
In a July 8 memo written 'to our neighbouring tribes and organizations' and on behalf of Chief Joan Brown, council and elders, the Penelakut Tribe identifies the Kuper Island Industrial School as the site of the discovery.
"We understand that many of our brothers and sisters from our neighbouring communities attended the Kuper Island Industrial School,” the memo reads. “We also recognize with a tremendous amount of grief and loss, that too many did not return home."
The Kuper Island Industrial School was in operation from 1889 to 1975 and has been referred to as “Canada’s Alcatraz” because of its remote location and difficulty to escape from. It was operated by the Catholic Church with funding from the federal government.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.