MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

Child Labour

Had a good day today!

It started with a somewhat unexpected long chat with a friend this morning, which, though making me late for my breakfast, set me up for the day in a great mood!

This followed another unexpected chat with my sister yesterday, the first time she's phoned me in ages; with a most interesting proposition.

I'm sorry these two things may seem a little cryptic, but I will tell you more 'one day'! Maybe. Perhaps. If you're good.

So, I'm toying with some ideas and I'm very happy - that's not something I say every day!

Late morning I went to my parents' to sort out the old car, clean it, photograph it etc. After I've finished this I will be listing it on eBay, no reserve.

Mum and Dad forced me to stay for roast dinner, which with my diet isn't a good idea, but I didn't want to refuse them ;) After we'd eaten and watched the grand prix highlights, I let them wash up whilst I tried my best to break their vacuum cleaner using it on the car.

All this excitement left it rather late for my blip, rain was falling and light fading fast, but I shot off down to Rye Harbour. This building used to be part of a concrete pipe manufacturing works, Dad used to be a director there and in summer holidays whilst still at school I used to work there (paid of course). In this shed, tunnel segments were made. Frankly I'm amazed it's still standing, it looks no worse now than it did 30 (more or less) years ago; when I thought it was about to fall down at the time.

Sorry, it's not a great shot, There is a big fence that my lens was poking through to take this, and I had the wrong lens today anyway, I'd rather of had a wider angle with the rusting corrugated steel sheets on show too. Oh well, that can be a blip for another day! I do quite like the teasel plants in the foreground, they make it seem very remote and desolated, which it is!

Hope everyone has a great week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.