Flight For Life…

…just taking off. Don’t know that I’d care to fly off with those dark clouds around, but they must have gotten a call for transport & need to go. As you may have guessed by the flight for life helicopter, I’m at the hospital with Tom. He started feeling tired on Tuesday, & yesterday he spent most of the day sleeping on the couch which is unusual for him. He woke up this morning looking flushed & exhausted, & when I checked he had a fever. I called the office right away & spoke to the nurse, who relayed the info to Tom’s dr., who immediately called the cancer floor to see if they had a bed available (they did), then called me back to tell me to bring him in. They did blood cultures, nasal & throat cultures, chest x-ray, etc., then started him on a broad spectrum IV antibiotic. He’s also had IV magnesium, potassium & a unit of platelets. His temp is normal right now & he’s looking better, though he’s still tired. The dr. said they’d probably keep him for 48 hours & then if all is okay he can come home. A fever can be deadly when you have no immune system to fight off infection, so I’m grateful to his dr for his quick actions & to the wonderful nurses who have been taking care of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.