Wild Chicory

Just a snap with my phone as I left the hospital...it's been a long day. The blood cultures taken from Tom's implanted port showed pseudomonas, a bacteria that was causing the fevers and lethargy. The IV antibiotics they started Tom on yesterday are very effective against it, which is good. But the infection control doctor said that many times, even with the antibiotics, a tiny bit of the pseudomonas bacteria can hide somewhere inside the port, and once the antibiotics are finished it can start growing again, so they recommended removing the port. Tom was okay with that, but it was put in because he was getting stuck 3 and 4 times to get IV access for his transfusions and chemo, so he's dreading that part of it. They had to give him two units of platelets before they could remove it because his platelet level was so low that the radiologist was afraid Tom's blood wouldn't clot when they took the port out. Not knowing this was going to happen, I'd ordered a grocery pick-up for this afternoon, thinking that if Tom would come home tomorrow I wouldn't have to think about going out for groceries for awhile. So I had to leave just as they started the platelets; I ran to the store to get the groceries, took them home & unpacked & put them away, then went back to the hospital--I think I was gone about an hour and a half. Tom was already back in his room and the port was out without any problems, thank goodness. We don't know yet if they'll send him home tomorrow but we're hoping they will. Thanks for all the supportive comments yesterday. I appreciate it very much. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.