The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Palm House

Actually, it's the cabin! We both enjoyed a slow start this morning, following yesterday's exertions. After a gourmet lunch of cup a soup and a cheese toastie, I popped out to the cabin to benefit from the sunshine, and spent a happy few hours listening to the afternoon play, the book programme, the Echo chamber (programme about poetry) and much, much more. I carried on with my jigsaw, and Steve and Bomble popped in and out from time to time. I don't know why I don't partake of such simple pleasures more often.

One of the good things about the cabin is that I can't get wi-fi on my iPad there, so there are few distractions. There! I think I've just answered my own question. The internet is a massive distraction. It feeds my need to fiddle, fidget and flit from place to place.

I've decided to stay in tonight, forgoing the live music for St Patrick's day at my local. Yesterday was tiring enough ... I'm going to watch a programme about Monarch butterflies which, curiously enough, overwinter in Uruapan (Mexico) which I believe is where my father lives, if he still lives. I saw the name Uruapan once on an avocado in a supermarket, and it surprised me, but we all know the butterflies, or at least I think we do.

This is a shot of an umbelliferous plant in the cabin, which Steve tells me IS an umbrella plant! Good. Our current collection of umbrellas is looking rather knackered after overwintering in the UK, and there is more rain to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.