Odyssey

I wanted to visit the coast before I left as this part of the NE Coast as it has very special memories of visits I enjoyed with Ann.  I think they will remain so, but I’m also open to revisit with anyone else who loves that part of the coast as much as I do.

I began my journey at Paddy’s Hole and my camera says 6am but I don’t think it was doing daylight saving time, so 7am seems more reasonable.  (My guess is that it took me around 40 mins to get there.)  I went with the intention of trying in-camera multiple exposures but I think there are more single image reflections in this panel than doubles (or trebles).

I moved on into Redcar and the modern architecture of the `Tuned In’ building, which was closed.  Ann and I usually went there for the loo and a drink before making our way to Paddy’s Hole. And, I made a visual discovery as I walked back from my short walk past the bandstand, which is that the architect has echoed some of the shapes of the steelwork complex.  Once the steelworks are demolished that visual echo will be lost, so I tried for a photo with them both in but unfortunately the wall around the site blocks the view.  My `Tuned-In’ images are in extra.  Many thanks to GG for the lessons and the inspiration.  I think I might get 7/10 or maybe an 8 for these.  I think she is right about modern buildings working better than old ones.

I discovered a man with a van and a coffee machine when I stopped for the loo between Redcar and Marske.  Delicious coffee and a lovely and very welcome Yorkshire Ginger Flapjack, which I ate sitting on a bench looking out to sea (where the ships that Ann loved tracking) were lined up ready to begin their journey into Tees-port.

I’ve written enough for now, but I continued my journey on through Saltburn and onto Skinningrove.  The photos get less interesting as I got more tired and the light became very flat.  I still need to look through the remainder of the photos I took.  My last image was taken just after 11am.  

A stop at the flower shop to buy a white rose to lay on Ann’s grave when I got back to Danby (which I’m not supposed to do, but I decided they could cope with clearing one flower stem away.  It’s a beautiful spot for a last resting place (well when the weather is good) and she has good company, but for me, she will always come with me when I travel the journeys we have made together. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.