Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Greater knapweed

Centaurea scabiosa

The essence of summer!  Wildflowers grow on Morn Hill in their thousands of millions - to feed the butterflies of course.  You can see that despite all the rain we've had (nothing like poor Europe, but flash floods in St Cross on Wednesday) the grasses are becoming very dry.  I guess the water soaks straight through the chalk.  Anyway, I had a wonderful time - hot, but brilliant.  And because of the heat I caught buses instead of walking up there, which turned out to be a good decision.

So the Big Butterfly Count is on again in the UK.  I think I will try to do it, but I fear this is going to turn out to be a bad year for numbers.  However, we had a whole two in the garden today ;))

Have a happy weekend, all you lovely blippers out there  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.