A Day In The Life

By Irish59

They’ve Landed

So we saw this today in the grocery store parking lot. We had just finished loading our bags in the back of the car and about ready to leave when I noticed this vehicle almost directly in front of us. We laughed, of course, but it stuck in my head all the way home, even while putting away all of our purchases • My head went on a journey, far far away, back to the late 1960s when I had my very first encounter. It was the original “War of the Worlds” released in 1953 with Gene Barry. I was equally fascinated and frightened by the story of aliens landing on earth. It was remade in 2005 starring Tom Cruise, and although with many more special effects, it still delivered on the scary yet realistic factor • There’s actually quite a few alien films I’ve enjoyed over the years. Here are some of my favorites: Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977); Alien (1979); E.T. (1982); Starman (1984); Aliens (1986); Independence Day (1996); Contact (1997); Signs (2002); Cloverfield (2008); Super 8 (2011) • I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few, but one that’s on my watch list is: Annhilation with Natalie Portman • How about you, do you have a favorite ET movie?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.