View from kitchen window

Of all the flowers in the garden it’s the sweet peas I cherish most. Not because they are abundant, I wish they were, but because they evoke many years as a teenager on the  family Welsh farm .
I grew sweet peas for exhibition in our local village show , Llangenny, and managed to win first prize with them, except one year when one of the farm dogs, in his eagerness to get in the car, jumped in and sat on them. 
I came third that year.


One year they had a scarecrow competition and I won it because I dressed the scarecrow up in a pair of my fathers old trousers. For years afterwards he would go around and proudly point out that he was wearing trousers that had won first prize in Llangenny show.Mother was not chuffed. She liked to have standards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.