The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Evening in the garden

It seems a tricky time for so many of the over-75s right now. I hailed a friend in the street to ask her if she knew of the death of a mutual friend, who was 92. She backed away and said she was self-isolating, because her granddaughter has CoVid-19, but told me about the death of another of our acquaintances, aged 89.She said she'd lost 4 friends in 8 weeks. That's tough, especially while self isolating and having time to dwell on things.
My friend Dave is also self-isolating again.

I'd arranged to meet a friend J for coffee in town, and the world was there to greet us while passing by, and catch up on news. Another venerable lady had had a bad fall at her 80th birthday party, and has now moved to a retirement flat. She was upbeat about the changes. Later in the day, I met another of the walking wounded. Meanwhile, GG who is still bandaged, was texting me with requests for loose tea leaves and hard nail varnish. You get the picture.

J and I briefly went to Poundland. The store is almost empty now, with prices greatly reduced She bought two bras for 70p and I got a smart black magazine file for 10p. Then I ran off to collect the buggy and the kids ( the ones I look after) from playgroup. It was by now far too hot to be outside, so I took them straight home for lunch and indoor play, which went well, apart from the 'Ive pooed on the floor' moment' (by the time I'd cleaned the poo off the child, his twin had inadvertently placed some toys on top of the blob of poo on the floor).

The boys' grandparents turned up to relieve me, and I walked home very slowly because I was still looking for GG's stuff, and a course book for Dave, and messy play/baking things for the boys, and it was still waaaay too hot, around 27 degrees. It must have taken me twice as long as usual to get home.

Back home, I ordered the book for Dave, sent some emails, made supper, contacted a house sitter from the olden days because we are going to Scotland next month, ate supper, made a lotion for GG and so on. Self isolation, preferably in a Trappist monastery, is beginning to sound very appealing. I'd best he careful what I wish for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.