The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Down Giddynap Lane, Amberley, Stroud

I'd planned to visit GG this morning by bus and on foot. Then CS offered me a lift. Next, while I was contacting a friend in Wales, she revealed she'd be passing through Stroud today, and suggested having a coffee, as well as offering me a lift to GG's.

In the end, the coffee plan was abandoned, even though I'd set up the parasol in our garden. Roadworks had delayed my friend, and she had a busy schedule. She dropped me off near GG's, after the briefest of catch-ups en route. I had not seen her since before the pandemic.

Anyway, GG had me writing birthday cards and doing other things for her, and I rustled up some lunch as well as offering to set up a different TV and Amazon set top box in the bedroom, at a date to be announced. She is finding it difficult to not over-exert herself, but this is essential because of the pain in her arm that such exertion causes.

After taking my leave, I walked down the lane opposite her house, the strangely-named Giddynap Lane. I have not been able to find out why it's called that. I did admire the profile of the big house, however. At the bottom of the steep country lane I came upon some businesses and a bus stop situated on the A46 at Inchbrook. As the bus wasn't due for a while and the other person who was waiting was smoking, I walked to South Woodchester and waited there. Just before the bus came, I panicked about a mask and ended up making one out of a red and white spotted nylon shopper. Very natty. Quite hot, too!

In Stroud I walked to my afternoon job, and we had a ridiculously fun play session with three siblings. For some stupid reason, I walked along the canal afterwards to the Stroud Brewery bar, to see if I could find some information on food served there (I have visitors tomorrow, from far-away Enfield). The walk was long, the canal water level was low and stinky, and I couldn't get the food info. However, it does mean that I walked a lot of steps today.

When I got home, I changed and went and lay down in the cabin, where I have been stationed for several hours. Did I mention that today was still swelteringly hot? Tomorrow is going to be even hotter.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.