Rat watch!

The courgettes are doing really well this year and I am picking them everyday! I have three plants in this raised bed on the patio and several more in pots. Last year I had difficulty getting them started, this year they all took off so now I have plenty to share! You can just see Reg at the back of the photo sitting on rat watch. We have our bird feeders suspended in a cage on an old swing frame so they are not too close to the house. It's impossible to get rid of the rats as they just reappear as fast as you dispose of them! We have netting on the ground beneath the feeders so that Reg can't get at the dropped seeds and hoover them up! The rats rush out from the long grass under the netting and are quite happy to do it when we are also in the garden. I don't like rats but they are fascinating to watch and one of God's creatures, although why he chose them I have no idea! Reg will sit perfectly still waiting for them, then stalk across for the final chase. The rats are winning 99% of the time at the moment because Reg won't rush into the long grass after them. Come the winter it may be a different story!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.