New steps

This is Reg in lazy, "I can't really be bothered to chase rats today" mode! It's been far too hot these last few days for Reg to be rushing about anywhere much so has spent many hours in his bed under the patio bench, beyond the potato tubs in this photo. Every now and then he comes out to sit in the sun and has discovered my newly constructed steps, very vaguely steps, is a good vantage point for lazy rat watching. 
I've spent a few hours each day trying to get to grips with this top section of garden in the hope that I can make it a very pleasant place to sit and enjoy the garden by this time next year. It's been hot work so slow progress is being made. I'm still determined to make roses a feature as I really love them so I think in my breaks from the hard graft tomorrow I will sit and do some research and planning.
I had a long break today as Ann and Mark who moved into no. 5 at the end of our lane had an open house, for our tiny community of 10, as they weren't able to have a house warming when they moved in last year due to the lockdown. There were a couple of their close friends there too who are staying the weekend. It was so lovely for us to get together and sit and just chat. We are lucky to have such super neighbours, all quite different, ranging in age from early 40's to late 80's. There is always someone who can lend a hand, or an ear, or have a chat. I stayed about 3 hours then came home to feed Reg and the hens. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable sunny, summer afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.