Utter waste of time/egg?

Having mastered the art/craft of poaching without a "Poaching pan" after Alice, who used one, I thought that was it - BUT - apparently not.
There was a Wazzack on Radio recently has formed an "Egg Club"; which I have NO intentions of joining - BUT - he's even denied top Chefs membership on grounds of use of Mayonnaise, swirling, vinegar, etc. 
He was telling the interviewer how to poach the "perfect" egg.  I could see the point of his method, had it worked.  Another - BUT - either he was deliberately vague OR it doesn't work.
His method:-
Roll the eggs around in the water for 90 seconds, remove it to "rest" for 90 seconds, then crack and poach.
I suspect, in theory, you ought to get the egg surrounded by set white. 
In "cold", hard, fact, you get a large amount of egg left behind in the shell.
I didn't bother a shot of the otherwise good-looking, but undersized, egg; just the amount not wasted, as my Scottish ancestry demanded I rescued it with a Teaspoon..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.