Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Dragons at Bodnant

What better way to celebrate 200 blips than by visiting Bodnant Gardens on a stunning summer Sunday? I manage to book a 9.30 entry slot which has the advantage of relative morning coolness and lack of crowding - and walking along the verdant paths is glorious. Warmth brings out all the fragrances of summer growth; it feels almost tropical in terms of lushness, headiness and gentle heat. 

There’s an outside chance of a kingfisher, but there are no tell-tale flashes of blue by the lake at the Far End. Instead, I focus my attention on dragonflies, and sure enough, they’re out in force, zipping around the stretches of water but stubbornly refusing to come to rest.  Then I spot one on a purple flower. I think it’s a Golden Ringed Dragonfly, but I’m no expert - and it’s today’s main. 

We move on to Bodnant’s famous terraces where the lower pond is always popular with dragons and damsels, and so it is today. Last time we visited, it was only the damselflies in evidence, but today they’re joined by the big guys.  A female Emperor (I think) is ovipositing on the central patch of pond algae, another frustratingly refusing to do anything other than fly around at lightning speed. I spend some time trying to capture it in flight; it’s far too hot for this, and I feel I’ll soon melt into a pool of sweat. Most of my shots have tell-tale blurs, but I manage to salvage one or two where a dragonfly is actually recognisable. 

So as extras, there’s a collage of the ‘salvaged’ shots of movement, with others of activity on the pond. I’m pleased with the ones where damselflies also appear - it’s good to see the contrast in their sizes. 

So, 200 blips. It’s a small milestone compared to those reached by many fellow blippers, but it’s still significant and seems to have crept up quickly after my first 100. 

It seems a good time to reflect:

Blip definitely feels an essential element of day-to-day life by now; it’s hard to think of life without it. 
I’ve realised every entry doesn’t have to be a photographic masterpiece.
There’s never the ‘perfect’ choice of main, so I really shouldn’t agonise over which one to choose - though I probably still do. 
Looking back, I feel my photography has improved - and definitely diversified - and I’m loving my new 90D.
I hadn’t thought of blip as an outlet for my writing - an unexpected plus for me, though I know I often write too much! 
It’s wonderful to feel I have a group of international friends who genuinely care for and support one another. 

So thank you all for being there, for your kindness and support. Blip certainly is a wonderful community. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.