NatureQueen123

By TheLoveOfNature

Ten years! Wahoooo!!

Where has the time gone? Ten years ago today was my first day at Colby! I remember it like it was yesterday.
The weather was pretty much the same, except it was a lot wetter. I got soaked!! 

I remember the very first job I did. I was in the Walled Garden with the Walled Gardener and we were cutting back the Alchemilla mollis (Lady’s Mantle). She started at one end and I started at the other. We eventually met in the middle. That’s been one of my jobs every year since!

The rain didn’t put me off, I wanted to go back for more and more and more! I absolutely love it!! I love doing a mixture of Walled Garden, Woodland, Wider Estate stuff and Wildflower Surveys! 

Everyone gets on very well and it’s a really great bunch of people. We all love Colby, it holds a special place in our hearts.
I’ve learnt so much too. Not just from the gardeners, but from other staff and from fellow volunteers as well. I wonder if anyone has learnt anything from me haha.

Seeing as it’s my 10 year Anniversary, obviously I had to go to Colby today! Mum and I took Albie for a walk there this morning. We went earlyish to try and get there before it was too hot. It was pretty warm, but we walked in the shade of the woodland. We waited for the Tearooms to open and I went and got some cake to take home.

It was great to actually go there this year. Last year, I think it was still closed from Lockdown. Usually we have a party or something. For my 8th Anniversary, we had a party. It was great fun! Hopefully we can do something belated soon :)

My blip is of my favourite photos that I’ve taken there over the years and my extra blip is of photos I took today. Unfortunately we couldn’t go in the Walled Garden, it wasn’t open yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.