Castles in the sun

I’m staying metres away from a small friendly café called Bluebird, so I stopped in for a coffee, to fuel me for a few hours of exploring.

It was a warm day and the city looked as grand as ever. It felt like I was constantly serenaded with bagpipes or other interesting music as I strolled the Royal Mile, the approach to Edinburgh Castle, and The Meadows. The grass on The Meadows felt particularly nicely cushioned so I relaxed there and enjoyed the soundtrack of two young women strumming a banjo and singing.

From there I meandered west along the Union Canal, and through Murrayfield and to Costorphine, where my uncle and aunt live. They laid on a BBQ whilst we made good inroads to their beer collection. By the time we had imbibed, gorged and covered every topic under the sun, dusk had been and gone and it was already 11pm. I headed back to the city centre on the bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.