A time for everything

By turnx3

Foiled by the weather!

Friday
We knew there was a chance of pop-up storms during the day, but it looked like most would go north or south of us, so we decided to risk going up to Cowan Lake with the kayaks. However, when we got there the clouds were looking a little ominous and no one else was out on the lake. We heard some distant rumbles of thunder and saw some distant lightening, so we waited a while, but then it seemed to brighten up for a while, so we got the kayaks off and got them in the water. Since the weather was a bit iffy, we were just going to take it in turns, rather than rent an extra one. Laura had set off, and Roger was just about to, when I saw lightening again, so they came back in. We hoped the storm would pass us by, and we were just going to sit in our chairs and watch it, however after a while the clouds got very dark and it started to rain. I went to the car with my chair and the book I was going to read, I was running back to the dock to help Laura turn the kayaks over while we waited for the rain to pass, when unfortunately I tripped and fell, badly hurting my hand, grazing/bruising my chin and cheek bone, shoulder and knee!so that was the end of our excursion! When it stopped raining, Roger and Laura loaded the kayaks and we headed home, and I cleaned up my scrapes and started icing my hand, which is bruised and swollen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.