100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 90 & MONO MONDAY

We had a lovely day just sitting in the garden yesterday - it was too hot to do anything else - so perhaps I didn’t do enough exercise, but I just couldn’t sleep last night.  In fact, at 2 a.m. I was still wide awake, so I went downstairs, leaving Mr. HCB snoozing away.

Whilst I was sitting in my chair, I decided to look for something to use as an abstract for today and spotted one of our energy saving light bulbs.  Having looked at the theme for Mono Monday, which was “groovy”, the light bulb had grooves - although I’m not sure that was quite what Laurie had in mind when she set the challenge!

I played around with it in iColorama and after a bit of faffing and fartnarkling, ended up with this for Mono Monday and also for Number 90 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which I am doing to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, a charity which helps impoverished girls in North Malawi to obtain a good secondary school education.

CHIMWALA  - was a Mamie Martin Fund beneficiary at Elangeni Secondary School and the Fund paid her fees because her parents were struggling to pay them.  She has now been able to complete her studies without worrying about being asked to leave because of non-payment of fees.  Chimwala is so grateful for the support she has received from the Fund.  

Chimwala attended the Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources and was hoping to gain a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Sciences.  She realises that she would never have got this far in her education were it not for the contribution from the Fund and her school.

I was quite late getting up this morning, but when I went to sit in the garden with Mr. HCB to have a cup of coffee, I was glad I hadn’t got up any earlier.  He told me he had had “fun and games” trying to get a baby magpie out of our conservatory and had then had to clean up the mess it had made - I won’t elaborate, but you can guess, because it was obviously very frightened.  I would have freaked out because I hate flapping birds near me, but thankfully, by the time I got up, all the “excitement” was over.  What a hero!

I know God will not give me anything 
     I can’t handle; 
          I just wish that He didn’t trust me 
               so much.”
Mother Teresa

P.S.  My sponsorship is rising - I am now up to £335 - £373 with Gift Aid - so please consider sponsoring me for this worthy cause - HUGE thanks to all those who have done so already. 
https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.