IT'S FAR TOO HOT...

...to sit on a computer - so this is a quick entry for today - a collage of garden flowers.  

ClockwiseFrom top left : Leucanthemum, one of the first Chrysanthemums, Calla Lillies, Agapanthus, Mr. HCB’s pride and joy, Carnation “Vega”, a slightly tousled seedhead from our Guernsey Cream clematis, one of our three Braeburn apples - which I am terrified of brushing past in case one of them drops - and last but not least, one of our Hosta flowers.  

I just hope we have some rain soon, because the garden is beginning to look rather sad - and the water butts are empty.  I am still saving any water that we use in the kitchen sink, but a wee drop of the wet stuff would be most welcome - Mr. HCB has just been looking at the weather and there are thunderstorms forecast, so perhaps we will cool down soon.  Even in our shady corner, it was 35C just after 10 o’clock.

Something to make you laugh - Admirer would have loved this!  I went to bed at about 11.30 last night and at 12.30 was woken by the sound of a megaphone on the road at the back of our house and someone saying “The water will be turned off...the water will be turned off.”  I jumped out of bed - well not so much jumped as rolled out, went downstairs and filled any available saucepan, bottle and jug with water from the cold tap.  Mr. HCB was rather confused when he got up to see all the receptacles and when I explained to him, said he didn’t hear anything!

I asked Lynn and Mike, our lovely neighbours, but they didn’t hear anything either.  I think the heat has got to me - what do you think?  Please be gentle with me when you respond!

“A flower cannot blossom without sunshine, 
     and a man - or woman - 
          cannot live without love.”  
Max Muller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.