THE THREE CRICKETEERS

After such a warm day yesterday, it was a pleasure to get up this morning and see an overcast sky!  Mr. HCB was glad he didn’t go to cricket yesterday, but I could tell he was excited about going today.

Spot on 9 o’clock, his cricket buddy, Keith (on the left) arrived, with his son, Graham, who lives in Portland, USA, driving.  Mr. HCB was out there like a shot but Keith and Graham just sat in the car waiting for him to put his gear in - however, I had other ideas!  

I asked them if they would please get out so that I could take a photograph, so with a little grumbling but still smiling, out they got.  I also thought it would be good to have a selfie with us all, and you can see I just about managed to get Mr. HCB in the shot - I could tell they were eager to get going!  I chose black and yellow for the borders, as these are the colours for Gloucester County Cricket Club, of which both Keith and Mr. HCB are members.

Graham is over visiting his Dad for a month and has been all over the country so far but for this week at least, he is happy to take his Dad and Mr. HCB to the Cheltenham Cricket Festival, which means I have the car.  However,  next week Graham is off travelling again, so I will be carless - but I don’t really mind.

I’m sure they will have a great time together - I took the opportunity, before meeting a friend for lunch, to do a deep-clean in my kitchen - a job which was long overdue - but it is now sparkling.  Just need to do the rest of the house but then I have got all next week free!

  “Cricket is a most precarious profession; 
     it is called a team game but, in fact,
          no one is so lonely as a batsman 
facing a bowler 
     supported by ten fieldsmen 
          and observed by two umpires 
to ensure that his error 
     does not go unpunished” 
John Arlott - English journalist, author and cricket commentator 
for the BBC's Test Match Special. 
He was also a poet and wine connoisseur.

P.S.  Just had a Whatsapp message from Mr. HCB to say it's raining!! 
:-(   I think they call that "Murphy's Law"!  I've just looked on my Weather app and it looks as if it will be light rain and light winds for most of the day - oh dear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.