THIS WAS HARDER THAN IT LOOKED!

I was wide awake just before 6 o’clock this morning so decided to go shopping while it was still cool - although it’s definitely not as hot today, thankfully.

Mr HCB, Keith and Graham have gone off to cricket again today, although they were home early yesterday because bad light and rain stopped play, but they took it very well and went off this  morning with smiles on their faces - but then there was the prospect of fish and chips for lunch, so why wouldn’t they be happy, even if they saw no cricket?

When we were over at Hall & Woodhouse a few weeks ago, I had seen this beautiful kingfisher on the side of The Kingfisher CE Academy at Wichelstowe and thought it would make a good Blip, so here it is although I must admit that it was more difficult taking and editing the photograph than I thought because of its position on the wall, but I hope I have done it justice.  I did ask permission though before taking the photograph, as I was on school property and didn’t want them to think there was anything strange going on - and of course, in this day and age, we need to be very careful, especially where children are concerned.  

I found this information from the website for the school:

“Kingfisher CE Academy is a brand-new, state of the art, primary school which opened in 2021, which offers an integrated educational journey for ages 2-18 guided by a strong Christian ethos.  In line with the Church of England education strategy, we promote an education that allows children, young people and adults to live out ‘life in all its fullness’.”  

Despite ringing the Diocesan Office in Bristol and also the school, I am unable to find out the name of the artist who commissioned the two kingfishers, which is a shame, but at least I tried.

Before taking the photograph, I popped into Hall & Woodhouse for a coffee, which was made by the waitress who served me, but when I took my first sip, it tasted “burnt” so when a young man who was also making coffee, asked if I was enjoying my coffee, I told him I wasn’t and that it tasted rather odd.  He immediately said he would make me another one and also offered me a slice of cake - so that was my lunch sorted - see extra!!  

When the young man came over to ask if my new coffee was better, I said it was and also said that the cake was delicious.  If I had been forty or even fifty years younger, I might have thought I was being chatted up, when he then said “Do you come here often?” We both laughed, so I told him that my husband and I came over perhaps once a month, and the last time we came was when I had seen the kingfisher art on the school just over the road.  I said that my husband was at cricket and that as I had the car, I had decided to come and take a shot of the kingfisher for my Blip.  I then had to explain what a Blip was and when he said it sounded good, I gave him one of my cards so that he could see what I did.  When he queried my username of “Honeycombebeach", I explained that I was called Mrs HCB and therefore my husband was Mr HCB and I also told him the reason for the name, which if you don’t know, you can see here.

What a lovely morning and I understand there are no calories in cake which is a gift, as I am sure you will agree!  I think a good read, perhaps sitting in the garden, will do me this afternoon - housework has been relegated to the bottom of my “To Do” List and as the fridge magnet my dear friend, Gill, gave me says, “I don’t do any housework on days ending with a ‘Y’”, although yesterday was an exception!

‘If at first you don't succeed, have some cake.'
     'I see. Does it work?'
          'Every time.’
Charlie Mackesy : The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.