100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 92

Another night spent tossing and turning because it was so hot, so when I woke just after 6 o’clock this morning, I decided that it would be a good idea to go shopping - so was on my way by 7.45 a.m and was back just after 9 o'clock.  Most people were wearing masks, thankfully - it seemed to be younger ones who weren't.   I was rather pleased with myself, because I used Apple Pay for the first time - with thanks to my Blip friend, Heidi, for giving me the push I needed.

Just before I left - and Mr. HCB had been out in the garden watering since just after 6 a.m. - he pointed out to me one of his beautiful sunflowers - not the usual yellow ones, but a deep orange and it was gorgeous.  There are others coming on, all of which he has grown from seed from a variety called Vincent’s Mix obviously after the famous painter, Vincent van Gogh.  

Apparently, this variety is pollen free, long flowering and makes a superb cut flower - although I doubt we shall cut them - I like to see them in their natural habitat, as I have said before.  Many of the carnations are beginning to come and although a few were picked last week, I still prefer them “on the plant”.  

This is a deep orange sunflower, which I suppose could be called terracotta,  and is Number 92 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which I am doing to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which enables impoverished girls in North Malawi to obtain a good secondary school education - if you haven’t already sponsored me, you might like to consider helping this worthy cause.  There was a little fartnarkling done using my iColorama app and this is the result.

CHIMWALA  - was a Mamie Martin Fund beneficiary at Elangeni Secondary School from 2013 to 2017. The Fund paid her fees because her parents were struggling to pay them and consequently, she has been able to complete her studies without worrying about being asked to leave because of non-payment of fees.  Chimwala is so grateful for the support she has received from the Fund.  

In 2018 Chimwala attended the Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources and was hoping to gain a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Sciences.  She realises that she would never have got this far in her education were it not for the contribution from the Fund and her school.  

So many of these young women go back to help their communities after they have finished their education and become wonderful role models for others.

“The world needs strong women -  
     women who will lift and build others, 
          who will love and be loved. 
Women who live bravely,
     both tender and fierce - 
          women of indomitable will.” 
Amy Tenney

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.