Cinnabar moth – Tyria jacobaeae

I was surprised to see this lovely small butterfly perched amongst the grasses in the front garden. I see it most years but am never sure when it will appear.

It flitted about as I approached so it was hard to film and I could only show its underside. The spots are on the top of its wings. There is so much tiny insect life in the garden at present, but that is what happens in a summer season. The bird life has reduced to virtually nil, except foir the tiny tits that have just fledged. 

My knowledge of insect life is limiteds and my observation skills are poor. Fellow blipper 'Stevvi' has recognised this and recently recommended that I use a phone app called 'Seek', which I've only just downloaded and opened. I thought I'd try it out on this moth which earlier I'd identified as a 'Six-spot Burnet-– Zygaena filipendulae'. Now I'm happy rto announce it is something completely different, a 'Cinnabar moth – Tyria jacobaeae'. Than you very much to Stevvi, once again. He's a clever bloke and quite a good photographer too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.