The Woodman Cometh

I didn't get a lot of sleep last night.  It wasn't sitting up to watch Bob Dylan, that finished at 11pm, it was just the warmth of the bedrooms.   We tried the front room thinking it may be more comfortable but by two thirty I'd given up trying to get to sleep and we moved back to the back bedroom.  It wasn't a lot cooler but at least we managed some sleep, though when I woke at five thirty Ann had given up and had gone out for a walk.

I guess we should expect warm weather in July, but I'd like it to cool down a bit in the evening and night!

There was a racket outside when I finally crawled out of bed at eight thirty.  The neighbours had warned us that they had permission to cut down one of their trees in the garden, on the premises it was diseased though it looked fine to us.  There is a row of trees stretching down the lane behind our street 's houses, they have been there since long before any houses were built here in the 60s and they are lovely to look out on from the back of the house.  It was not so much the noise of the chain saw that upset me, it was the thought of one tree being destroyed. 

Anyway being a blipper I wasn't going to let a photo opportunity go past so I took a couple of shots from the bedroom window. By this time he had stripped off all the branches and leaves and was down to the main trunk, slowly working himself down, slice at a time.

The 'concert' last night wasn't really a concert.  It was a broadcast of a live recording of Bob Dylan performing some of his old songs with new arrangements, in a small and smokey club in Marseille with a four piece backing band, all wearing masks, and an audience who drank wine, smoked and danced, it was quite atmospheric.   Unfortunately the gig only lasted 50 minutes, there being a ten minute countdown at 10pm and shortly into the start of the broadcast they had problems with the signal.  I eventually gave up on the computer,  connected to the site on my tablet and cast the rest of the show to the TV, which worked well.  Apparently it is available to rewatch until early tomorrow morning.

There was a continuous chat channel of avid Dylan fans praising it all, that could be closed off luckily, though Andrew and I kept a WhatsApp discussion going whilst he sang, I liked that, sharing the experience with him (he is a much more dedicated Dylan fan than I am!).

I guess it was a unique experience, though I wouldn't be surprised if it came out on DVD at some time.  I would have liked it to be longer, though I guess when you reach the age of eighty and have been singing forever you can only do so much.  Having said that, I thought his voice was great and thoroughly enjoyed his singing (as expected he didn't talk between songs).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.