Canal Life

One of the things that attracted us to this house was the location, backing directly on to the Worcester and Birmingham Canal in Diglis.  We have a ground floor sun patio and a first floor balcony from which to watch this small part of the world go by, literally,  on foot on the opposite bank tow path or on boat, be it pleasure or narrow boat, passing up and down to and from the Diglis Water Canal Basin.  Some of the boats, of course, do not move, one of our closest neighbours lives with his partner on a moored narrowboat close by the house. We have met them and other more land bound neighbours over the last two or three days, everyone is so very friendly and willing to assist if necessary. 

We are very happy here and settling in, even with the occasional crisis, we even had a Tesco delivery today.  

We had an early lunch and popped out to the cathedral for a cool-down and a cup of coffee.  During the rest of today I managed to get the WiFi working, which means I can use the computer again without relying on my phone's hot spot.  I have commandeered the third bedroom as my office/study/music room. I also managed to spread the WiFi via the house cabling to boost other rooms, and most importantly hard wire the TV so I can continue watching Stranger Things on Netflix. I also successfully reset up my pacemaker monitor which I believe is still transmitting to Warwick Hospital. 

So here's a shot from the balcony.  I don't think the guy on the right actually went swimming, but he did paddle his feet.  And I watched the narrow boat move from one mooring to another on the other side of the canal, maybe mooring time is limited here?

People watching, a simple pleasure, and easy to do even in extremes of heat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.