Too hot for pooches

OMG isn't it hot? I went to the park for an hour this morning at 8am. I had a lovely time zooming around and splashing in the burn. I couldn't do any swimming because there wasn't enough water in the burn. Boohoo.

…..............And then it just got hotter and hotter and hotter. Ann tried sitting out on her balcony (and I sat with her) but much as Ann is a sun worshipper; it was far too hot so we both had to come in.

By this afternoon Ann was panicking about where she was going to walk me. She had to go out at 4.30pm to do a 'Meet & Greet' but she knew that the pavements before then would be too hot for my paws. And as we live in a fourth floor flat she was worried that I might want to go to the toilet before my planned walk at around 6pm. So guess what we did?............... At about 3pm she put me in the car and drove me to the top of Blackford Hill. Fortunately the minute that I got out of the car I was able to walk on grass (not hot concrete) and also there was a slight breeze up there too. I don't even think I was there for half an hour but I had a lovely time running around in all the long grass.

It's so difficult for me living in a flat. If I had a garden, I probably wouldn't even need to go on walks when it's so hot. I must admit I do find it all a bit exhausting, but Ann is conscious of the fact that I have to go out every so often for toileting purposes, even if I don't go on a walk. We've had our balcony door open all day and Ann has told me that I can toilet on the balcony if I want to. But I never, ever have, so I'm not sure I want to start now. Problems. Problems.

In the last two days (en-route from Cornwall to Edinburgh) I have been in the car for 12 hours in temps pushing 30C. Obv we've got air conditioning in the car so when we're travelling it's not too bad.

However, we'd just like to flag up a potential problem here for sole humans travelling long distances with their pooches.................... If anyone has an answer to the following problem,  please let us know...............What does a 'single pooch owner' do if they want to go to the toilet on their journey?? Obv they can't leave their pooch in the car in temps of almost 30C.  And Ann certainly wouldn't leave me tied up outside a service station alone while she went to the loo cos someone would be sure to steal me because I'm so gorgeous. The only thing Ann could think of to do; would be; accost a family with a dog and ask if they'd mind looking after me for two mins and also ask if she could take a photo of them with me, just in case they turned out to be dognappers?????

Anyway, Ann's like a camel so she doesn't need to go to the loo on our mega long trips so all is good.

However, it's all very well saying don't walk your pooch on pavements in these temperatures, which we would never ever do, and Ann would be more than happy to keep me indoors in the shade while the temperatures are mega hot. But owning a pooch in a fourth floor flat and working out how and when to toilet them is a bit challenging??!!

…...................Having said that.................... the sun has usually gone from the front of our block of flats by the afternoon so if we go out our main front door and walk down the concrete path (which will be in the shade) and onto the grass (where dogs are not allowed), then at least I can go to the toilet so all is good. Until the neighbours start complaining that Ann is letting me go on the grass. Lol!!!

…............And despite all our 'rantings'....................... isn't this weather just fabulous???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.