Cool blue

Another scorcher, reaching over 30C by late afternoon. I'd planned to go for a short early-morning walk along the river before settling down to a day of report writing, but when I arrived I found that the Nene Park Trust had imposed new parking charges - no free parking for an a hour, but a reduced charge of £1.50. As I hadn't taken any money, I headed off to Thorpe Wood instead.

Thorpe Wood is a favourite haunt of mine in spring, but by mid-July it is generally rather dark and dreary. The very wet weather has stimulated growth of the brambles and nettles and today parts of it felt quite overgrown. But the saving grace was the abundance of Nettle-leaved Bellflower just coming into bloom. The cool blue flowers were a splash of colour among the intensely green surroundings, and the huge influx of hoverflies were enjoying the flowers too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.