CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Brodiaea laxa 'Queen Fabiola'

One of my old favourite bulbs recently popped up into flower in a big pot in the garden. This year it is surrounded by rather wild plants as I have been rather remiss in my gardening exploits for the last year.

After I took this photo between brambles, grasses and other weeds, I spotted more of these flowers in another pot about ten yards away. I certainly didn't plant that one so this plant's seeds must have been spreading over the last few years. That is the wonder of wild gardening. You never know where things will end up.

I planted this in 2014, which I know because I blipped it that summer. Apparently I bought some cheap bulbs at Lidl and these were some of them! Today's flowers are looking rather peaky as they have gone over. The original colours were such a lovely blue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.