WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Lunch

To the lovely Cocotte Fêlée (cracked pot) in Lagrasse for lunch today. They have a delightfully shady terrace (much appreciated when it is 36C) and a very good value 26 euro 3-course lunch menu. The speciality of the house is oeuf en cocotte, which through several changes of ownership over the years has always stayed on the menu and is always perfectly cooked. Today's was seasoned with chorizo, cheese sauce, and Chinese cabbage, served with a salad of lettuce and walnuts. Absolutely delicious, as was the main course of grilled pluma of Iberian pork with chorizo sauce and a silky puree of sweet potato: perfectly balanced flavours.

It was So Hot today, not a breath of wind. My morning visit to the swimming pool was perfectly timed. When I arrived the water was undisturbed, smooth as glass, and I had it to myself for my regulation 40 minutes in glorious solitude. As I got out, seven children arrived to splash joyfully while I dried off in the sun. So it worked well for everyone.

Pizza night tonight ... we combined it with drinks at the village bar, sharing the pizza and bottle of wine with anyone who wanted some. Nice to chill out and talk in the slightly cooler evening.

In other news, despite the heat I have started some sourdough croissants and pains aux raisins ::eek:: Watch this space! They are proving in the fridge now ... S is expecting some for breakfast tomorrow, but it may not end well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.