NatureQueen123

By TheLoveOfNature

Plus side to the Sunshine

Goodness me it’s been hot today!! I’m melting!

Today was a Colby day. I was in the Walled Garden. On my way in, I stopped in the co-op and bought a cake. I thought it would be nice to celebrate my 10th anniversary with everyone who was there today :)

When I went into the Walled Garden, no one was to be see. Apparently the phone lines were down, so the gardener had to walk up the road to get a signal on her mobile. When she came back, she told me to move my car because I’d parked under the Lime Trees and apparently this time of year they are covered in Aphids and lots of sticky stuff. When I went to get my keys, I saw the Head Gardener and told him the lines were down, so he had to go and get a signal to report it to head office. No phones lines means no card payments in the Tearooms. Not so good!

Anyways, I went back into the garden and asked what I was to do. We were clearing the Valerian growing out of the wall opposite the Tearooms. We needed the ladder, but it wasn’t where it was supposed to be, so off I went to find it. It was by the gardeners workshop attached to another ladder. I had to separate them and carry it up the road to where we were working.

By this point, I was already absolutely roasting! Luckily it was shaded by the wall and we got it finished before break time.

Time for cake and a cold drink! It was a Strawberry & White Chocolate cake. It was very nice! We eventually mustered up the energy to go back to work. I was doing a little wall by what used to be the shop. It was in full sun, so I got it done quickly!

When I’d finished, I went back into the Walled Garden. I dug out an old Hebe and then dug the ground over a bit. I then went to help the other volunteer outside the garden, but didn’t actually get much down. She decided to finish early and I went to have lunch.

The Head Gardener had printed off the risk assessment forms that he wanted me to carry out, so it was an afternoon of admin. I had 3 assessments to do, 2i could do indoors and the last one was outside, but I tried to do it as quickly as possible! 

I eventually finished them all and headed home. I was so hot, I just had to have a cool shower again. I can’t stand the heat, so I’ve been trying to avoid being outside since I got home. I haven’t done much at all!

For tomorrow, I’ve managed to rearrange one garden and I’m hoping I can move the second one to a different day. I’m going to the first one an hour and a half earlier than usual and hopefully I’ll here back about the other one. I’m supposed to be going in the afternoon, but it’s far too hot then! Hopefully I can go on Friday morning instead when it’s cooler.

That beautiful Passion Flower (in my blip) is in my garden. There’s been buds on it for weeks and today, 3 flowers have finally opened :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.