Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Journey's End ...

You can tell I'm home again. For a start, it's already after midnight - I've managed to be earlier abed while we were away. I'm also exhausted - this relocation business is much harder when you self-cater and have all that gubbins to bring in and restore to its customary places before you can settle down.

The day began with a real taste of east coast haar (interesting that predictive text doesn't know that word!) which the forecast suggested would linger in Newhaven till teatime. Not only was it (quite) deliciously cool, it also felt decidedly damp on my bare legs (I was wearing shorts while I heaved bedding around and carted stuff out to the car.) We didn't actually get away until lunchtime, though lunch was just a bit of toast and the one remaining banana split between us, and then I wanted to get the shopping done in Sainsbury's, just because I could ...

Exhausted by the effort of steering a decidedly wonky trolley round the shop, I was happy to collapse in the car and leave the rest to Himself. I may even have dozed off briefly, but woke to fire up Waze to guide us through the intricacies of the south side route round Glasgow - we usually miss the turn off until it's too late. This proved a Good Idea, as there seemed to be roadworks and slow traffic ahead through the M8 route, and we sped along at a good speed and - eventually - were second car onto the ferry for which we'd only had to wait five minutes.

We drove out from under the haar just outside the city boundary, and by the time we were driving through Glasgow the thermometer was showing 29ºC - it's amazing the difference it makes. McInroy's Point, where we board the ferry, seemed to swim in a blue haze, and the sea was millpond-smooth as we crossed. It's rare that I choose to spend the whole crossing on deck, but the car was beyond bearable at that point. I had thought of going for a swim when we got home, but in the end the unpacking of everything seemed to take forever. And then I had to think of making dinner ...

In the end, I made a mushroom and garlic risotto because I discovered I had a fridge bursting with mushrooms (I exaggerate) and accompanied it with a dollop of spinach cooked Roman-style, followed by raspberries and yogurt. As we didn't eat it till 9pm, there's no way I could go to bed at a sensible hour. 

Blipping the view of the approach to the berth at Hunter's Quay, where one of the other ferries is moored already. They are so much part of our lives here, those ferries, I feel that they need to feature here occasionally. 

Bet you can tell I'm back on my desktop Mac - I loathe typing any length of piece on my phone. I'll be back to moaning tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.