And so the build starts

I think Bb will like this one. Old College Quad is one of the venues for this year's more or less outdoors festival. Having covered the grass, I think they are now building an open sided tent structure, which will protect against the likely August inclement weather. But not, we ticket holders have been warned, against *really* bad weather. I think that from our offices we will be well able to hear the concerts (not least because the windows on the quad side are all open for pandemic ventilation, but also because said windows are all hundreds of years old and thus not very sound proof), but presumably not see the concerts because of the tent structure. Anyway, as my office overlooks Chambers Street, the whole business may not make that much difference to me.

I sent a picture of this to a colleague with the wording "peace and quiet leaves the building". But it's hard not to be happy that *something* is happening, even if it is not quite back to normal.

After work, I got the bus down to Leith, and while I was waiting for my haircut, L phoned to tell me about his travel travails today. Fingers crossed for Sunday. Funnily enough he turned BA's offer of a hotel in Heathrow for two nights....He has a better place to go.

And then after the haircut, on to Teuchter's Landing, for beers and some unhealthy scran. Good to be out, and of course "out, out", in the sense of being outdoors in the continuing good weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.