Mist rising

Another unfeasibly early start, and this time to Harlaw car park to do a walk of our own devising across Maiden’s Cleugh (yup, you read that right), down to Glencorse reservoir, and then back up Den’s Cleugh, round Black Hill, and round Harlaw reservoir. We’re thinking of doing that the other way round, so that would be “up Maiden’s Cleugh”. Maybe not…

It was a lovely walk. Just over 10kms and we did it in two hours 20 minutes, fairly motoring along (by our standards). The cloud was low over the Pentlands, but that lent a lovely atmosphere to the photographs. Glencorse Reservoir was “steaming” gently, as the mist gradually burned off. I could have blipped any of the dozen or so photographs that I took. I really should get back into putting things on flickr. Edit: all my recent photographs of the Pentlands have gone into this album, with the newest ones at the beginning. Because it’s an unusual sight for me, I’ve posted a picture of what the “view” looked like this morning at 6am. This suggests that it might have been clearing already. In fact, it look a lot longer for the low cloud to burn off.

Anyway, that was not me done for the day. After lunch, I dragged myself off my chair and went to do a peloton workout, as I need to get started with week 4 before we leave on Tuesday. In fact, I might try and finish week 4 before we leave. I was amazed that after walking 10kms, I could do a 45 minute peloton class, and I more or less managed to “keep up”. I was operating at the bottom rather than the top of the nominated power ranges, and my overall outcome was about 90% of what I would manage for such a class when I’m fresh. My legs are feeling suitably shoogly this evening.

The day brightened up eventually, so we sat out for a while in the afternoon, continuing to enjoy the balcony flowers. After a salmon pasta dinner, we are enjoying a couple of glasses of white wine, with the door open, but not actually sitting out as there is a sneaky wind and the air is cool.

I may take things easy tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.