Caddies?

I have no idea why these stencils, saying The Society of Cadies Est. 1714 have appeared on the north Edinburgh paths. I saw one today for the first time, but they don't look new. The best explanation for what it is talking about is this wikipedia page about cadies or caddies, basically messenger boys in 18th century Edinburgh, who were formally regulated after 1714 with their own Company. This may also be the origin of the word caddie in golf. But that doesn't really explain the stencils on the paths. Maybe someone can enlighten me.

We were out for an early pre-breakfast walk, incorporating dropping off the hospital letter from yesterday in the medical practice letter box. I caught up with a lot of things that went missing because of the two days off in the west, and then the supposed two day meeting, which turned into a one and a bit day meeting, and a long day in the hospital. In the afternoon, I popped out to order some new spectacles as the lenses in my current varifocals are horribly scratched. Apparently, this counts as 'essential', and so can be done at present. As I had a test done recently, it was just a matter of choosing some new frames (dramatically different to my present ones) and shelling out a vast amount of money. Funnily enough, the latter seemed an easier task than the former. I hate choosing spectacle frames.

I am very tired and have a bit of a headache this evening, so I'm heading for an early night. I suspect it is the strain of yesterday coming through.

Mr A thanks everyone very much for their kind concern, and he's doing fine. The DV has substantially receded, so the two pirate patches I ordered yesterday which arrived today may not get too much use. Much to everyone's disappointment, as obviously most people want to see him rocking the pirate patch/mask combo. Also arriving in a delivery today was a framed picture from L's wedding that he bought us. I need to figure out which space we can find on the walls to accommodate it.

We're looking forward to a quiet weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.