Long views

It was good to have a day or so to experience São Paulo before the work starts in earnest. Based on a recommendation from RJW, who has been working on this topic for some time, I walked over to the start of the Minhocão on Rua de Consolação and walked along there for a while, appreciating the novelty of the free space in the urban environment. I walked back by a slightly different route taking in Praça Dom Orione, where there was a flea market in operation. Finally, I headed back to catch some of Avenida Paulista, liberated for pedestrian and cycle traffic, as is evident from the extra, taken from my hotel room balcony. Fascinating and very revelatory about São Paulo. I had to make adjustments to my normal practices, mainly taking photos with my phone, but taking just a few when I felt comfortable with my camera (including those blipped here). That was when I felt able to take my camera out, because I was standing somewhere where I couldn't have it taken out of my hand. I didn't take anywhere near as many phone photos as I might have done either, especially of the amazing street art on the Minhocão, because I had been warned of the dangers of taking the phone out in public and of having it nicked from your hand by someone passing on a bike. In fact, aside from taking these precautions, I never felt at risk during a 10 kms walk across the city, during which I saw many different neighbourhoods.

In the evening, we had a welcome reception downstairs in the hotel. Good to catch up with some people I met in Madrid in March. Including someone who has an appropriate Fitbit charger. I am saved!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.