Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Where's Wally?

This in the foreground is not the only Tundra Bean Goose on the planet but for the amount of commotion it has caused recently amongst the twitching community it may well be! The only one round here though and also very scare in Britain generally! It comes from Siberia!

I set off this morning with the specific intention of blipping this for the BlipBigYear List while it was still hanging round. Fingers and toes were very crossed as I hoped it would come within camera range and it did. In fact it was the nearest I have ever seen it in the estuary. As there is only one of them hiding in and amongst the white fronted geese it was incredibly hard to spot as it's signature so to speak is the beak colouring which has dark bits on.

I'd left my binoculars at home as I couldn't have carried them anyway and when faced with the whole flock of similar looking geese it was like playing, 'Where's Wally?' Luckily for me a WWT warden was trying to do exactly the same as me so it made the process less tricky! Wally also made it easier as he was hanging round the periphery trying to be a member of the gang but failing so maybe The White Fronts thought he was a wally too perhaps?

More of today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.