Dinner outside

We picked up a very tired pair from their house this morning. Yesterday was last day of term and Ella’s last day at First School. It was also Nathaniel’s pal Albie’s last day as he is going to a private school. Nathaniel is quite envious as he’ll get fencing and there is a swimming pool. Albie had a farewell party for his friends and parents so I think it had not only been a late night, but also an emotional day.

We went in the woods to pick blueberries which are quite small this year. Then they have pottered about. We played cards under the sunshade.

They enjoyed the pasta - I made up a recipe involving thinly sliced red onions and courgettes. (I wish Tim Dowling would shut up about his courgette poisoning). I’d earlier infused good olive oil with lemon rind which I added with some feta and mint. Sadly I didn’t make quite enough so they had a load of lettuce, raw cabbage and radishes, all from the garden. Luckily I had a bit of date cake left so they got that with an orange.

Hopefully they’ll settle to sleep ok. Nathaniel really struggles to sleep, even at home. He’s brought a bag of toys to play with in bed. All our toys are too young for them now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.