A VERY TRAUMATIC DAY

It all started so well. The children slept 12 hours and were in good form. We had a lovely time at the fruit farm where they picked (and ate) strawberries then we headed for the beach at
Druridge Bay, a long beach. 7 miles long. This was our undoing.

We parked near the south end and carried all the stuff through the dunes. Ella Nathaniel and I played in the waves. (Mr C had decided he wasn’t going on so again had no bathers. A shame as they’d have had more fun jumping the waves with him and not scaredy me.)

We had our picnic which they scoffed then they asked if they could play on the big dune went a little bit up the beach. When we next looked they had gone.

We weren’t concerned as they like playing hide and in the long grasses. However when we had a look there was no sign. I went up the beach and Mr C went down. Then Ella appeared. Alone. She didn’t know where he was. He’d wandered off. Nightmare. Mr C set off in the direction he’d gone and Ella and I headed up the dune to see if we could see him.

After a time searching, and when neither of us could see him I dialled 999 for the first time in my life. I asked for coastguards who took my details and said they knew where I was because of my phone and to stay put till they arrived. This took 20 minutes by which time Mr C had got 2 miles down the beach but had not found him. 4 coastguard units and some police were deployed. I was able to tell them exactly what he was wearing - long sleeved grey top and orange swimming trunks with dinosaurs on them. Bare feet. A young woman was told to stay with Ella and me to keep us calm. (I was icy calm till I heard he was safe. Forgot Covid and hugged the coastguard search woman). He was found over 2 miles away heading back, further than Mr C had got. He said he had wanted to walk to the lighthouse but realised it was too far (7 miles and on Coquet island!) so decided to come back. He’d found a dead seal which grossed him out.

We never expected we’d be have reason to be thankful we contribute to the search and rescue charity as they are volunteers. When we were driving the children home Mr C remarked that we’d be an incident number now. Ella said “and the police know where we live!”

Not sure we’ll be allowed to be in charge again. We are sinking a stiff gin.

Top pic is the beach from where I called 999. Nathaniel running in the sea. And the wonderful rescue services.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.