Eleven and Twelve (Day 2270

In the mid '90s, I went to the Scottish Motorcycle Show, an annual event held in March. It always seemed to fall on a weekend of foul weather, no surprise for March. On one visit to the show, I ambled along to the Kawasaki stand and fell in love with a bike. I have no idea why, but the newly released, gleaming ZRX1100 just stole a little bit of me. At the time, there was no way I could afford the bike, but I would visit Kawasaki dealers to steal a look at the big rex.
A few years later, the ZRX11 was superceded by the ZRX1200, and I was finally able to afford my dream bike. An extra 100cc of engine capacity was just a bonus. It was an awesome bike, and I rode it every day. Sadly, after six months and 12000 miles, we parted company. The parting would have been less painful, perhaps, if we had come to a complete stop beforehand. The 1200 didn't survive.
A couple of years later, I was able to afford another 1200, and I still have the ZRX12 in the garage. A bike I still love and enjoy riding on sunny days.
Last week, I noticed a very low mileage ZRX1100 for sale. I was very tempted. I thought about it long and hard. Prompted by  my beautiful wife, I contacted the seller and expressed an interest. I noticed the advert had disappeared, and I thought I had missed my chance. I decided to phone the seller, and was massively relieved to find the bike still for sale. Negotiations were done, the sale was agreed over the phone.
This morning, the bike was brought to Kirkwall from Stronsay, and I finally got my dream bike.
Riding home was fantastic. Seeing both of my bikes, the 11 and the 12, side by side in the drive made me grin like an idiot.
A sunny afternoon meant a perfect opportunity for a ride out on the 11, with HV on the Bandit. A great ride out and a nice stop for coffee with Mum and Dad.
A couple of extras, because why not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.