Satisfaction

With this being the last weekend of the long spell of good weather, plan A had been to go to the mountains for the weekend. Indeed, I'd felt almost obliged to "make hay while the sun shines". But, the more I thought about where to go and the driving it would involve, the more I questioned whether I really wanted to go. I found a route from Killin over five peaks, but I'd have to drive and start walking in the heat of the day. I wasn't inspired. I knew that I could do it which, for me, takes away some of the motivation. And, of course, I'd had my experience in the Cairngorms last weekend to live on.

So, plan B was to walk into the Pentlands this evening, camp with Django, and then walk out tomorrow. I might get a sunset, and would be away from home for a night. However, I got stuck into following the Olympics and working, and eventually realised that the most satisfying thing for the day would be to get the piece of code I was writing to work. I'd had the idea months ago and, mathematically, I knew in an instant that it would work. For many mathematicians, that's the end of the interest. But for me, the true satisfaction is getting it coded and seeing it work on real problems. Just be fore 19:00, I spotted the final scaling factor required, and the code ran correctly on my small example. The satisfaction was great, and I took Django out for a walk in the Estate. On my return, I relaxed by watching one of my favourite films: "Room with a View".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.