pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Last n First

The Eldest has been staying with me this week whilst her mother is away.

With me working, I was a little concerned that she would just spend the week in her room staring at her phone, but instead we’ve been able to have some quality time together and more importantly she’s been off out seeing her friends.

The Eldest has her own battles with mental health, so it has been so nice this week to see a little sparkle back in her eyes and a smile across her face – anyone who has ever raised a teenager will tell you that this is a minor miracle in itself. 

The other reason she had to be dropped back off home today was so she could get ready for her first shift of paid labour at a hotel on the shores of Windermere. She’ll be doing some waitressing, which again, I think will be good for her, but either way we’re all very proud of her and looking forward to hearing how it went!

Post drop off, the wee ones and I headed down to a busy Bardsea beach (extra). Fortunately, with acres of space available, we found some room out on the muddy sands where we dispensed with shoes and had a great time padding around in the warm puddles and pools left by the receding tide.

They were tired when we got home, so following a nice strawberry cornetto – gots to have an ice cream on a sunny day, gots to – they flopped out in front of a screen whilst I gave my absolute sh*t pit of a car, a damn good clean and hoover. I am now no longer ashamed of it nor myself.

Living that #dadlife once more and loving every minute! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.