pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Tarn Hows now

The intention had been to get up and out, don our wetsuits and have a splash about in Coniston as we put the new paddle board through its paces.

Whilst I was prepared to ignore a bit of drizzle, I was unable to ignore the cold wind whipping around the lake and stirring up white horses. There were actual waves hitting the shore! Whilst a little disappointed, I was equally relieved that my shivering children didn’t fancy it either!

We drove back into the village and met up with my sister’s family. The wind was still gusting, but the sun had come up so we had a little stroll about and ventured back down to the lakeside. Naturally, there was one of those Dads in the water with all the gear braving the waves with his children, but it didn’t look like a lot of fun to be honest and they too were soon beating a retreat back to shore.

What was infinitely more fun was being treated to more cake courtesy of my brother in law and sitting down to eat them with our picnic in the sunshine. All the children were brilliant and the youngest cousin and newest arrival kept us all entertained with his continual good humour and constant beaming smile at everything. 

With stomachs bulging with picnic-y goodness, we decided to head up to Tarn Hows and we had a cracking walk around taking in all the beautiful scenery.

My sister got a lovely photo of us all, which I was grateful for as the offspring will all be back with their mothers tomorrow and I won’t see them for full a week.

Whilst not quite the day I had intended for my lot, it was the perfect last day before sending them off on their travels!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.