Marionb

By Marionb

Before the Haze....

I spoke prematurely last evening when I happily reported that the power had not gone out in the storm..shortly after posting, it did. And it didn't comeback on until noon today. Try starting your day without a coffee! No internet, no breakfast, no TV Olympics coverage. Yuk.

What to do? Well, I got out this knitting project that has been like an albatross around my neck for a long time now. It was my pandemic project..something I hoped would help me fill all those long days of lockdown, but after all those months, it just wasn't holding my interest anymore. I have been lugging it around wherever I go intending to keep at it, but inevitably, do not. There is always something more interesting to do. Well, not today!  So, in a coffee-less and media-free environment, I feverishly worked those needles and finally FINISHED it! (see extra)  

After the power came on and I got caught up with all the things I had needed electricity to do, the cloudy sky from yesterday's storm cleared, the sun came out and it was a beautifully clear day again, perfect for lounging in the sun and going for a swim -  wonderful! 

That, however, didn't last long; the haze of last week returned for the rest of the day and just before it set, the sun reappeared again, weirdly orange once more, and filtered as if through gauze. My bets are on wildfire smoke again. Apparently, north of here, where my sister lives, they can actually smell the smoke...

My fingers are crossed for clear weather tomorrow as I am looking forward to an outing with my brother and his friend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.