Back in the Saddle....

...again....

I know my old self is returning when I get the urge to get off the sofa and get my butt down to the lake - before breakfast! Well, today was the day and did it ever feel good. 

We had quite the thunderstorm last night and it broke the heat wave somewhat... There was a lovely stiff breeze - and it was a Monday morning, so no big crowds at the marsh and beach...just a few of us strolling about with cameras...a perfect morning...

The marsh looks so different in the summer with all that leafy greenery where there used to be water... and with vibrant strips of purple loosestrife added in to jazz up one's photos! I do remember when purple loosestrife was known as the enemy - an invasive plant that chokes our waterways..and "displaces and replaces native flora and fauna, eliminating food, nesting and shelter for wildlife". I have not heard much about it for ages ...so, am wondering if it is still a problem? I am just assuming that all that purple is indeed purple loosestrife.. which, if it is, would not be  a good thing, right? .. except for making more colourful photos? 

Other than the dash of purple in the landscape, the highlight of my morning was stumbling upon a mother duck and her fuzzy little ducklings.... well not literally stumbling upon, but I could have done just that, as they were very well camouflaged and I didn't even see them as I stood there photographing the scenery over their heads!  

There they were, all huddled up among some driftwood on the sandy beach almost at my feet!  They had to be pointed out to me by a lady passing by - a really Interesting and very nice lady... a lady who is one of those folks who "know things" and who like to enlighten you...So, of course we got chatting and I did learn some interesting things... like where the egrets hang out, and how long a snapping turtle can live, and that there were no turtle eggs laid this year on the beach...throughout all this, I took a lot of photos of that little duck family (extra). 

Another good thing about today was that my plans to go north to the cottage later this week seem to be falling into place...despite having a couple of monkey wrenches thrown into them!  So far, all obstacles have been overcome and I do believe that I'm actually going to be able to go! Fingers crossed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.