Marionb

By Marionb

Loony Tunes...

Aha! Our loon is back! I spotted him out in the back bay this evening..by chance..while I was looking for fungi!  

I happened to raise my head up from snapping some very interesting mushrooms and voila! The loon! Out there in the back bay! Where he belongs! 

By the time I got my act together - ie: my butt up off the ground - all I could see was his butt in the air as he dove down in search of food! I waited and waited for him to surface, astonished at just how long a loon can stay underwater, when at last, I spotted him on the far shore..floating around near the rocks. He stayed there for ages..just floating...and seemed to be very content doing so. A floating loon? The perfect photo-op for photographers armed with fabulous telephoto lenses..But, Alas..that would not be me...The zoom on my camera is good, but not THAT good...but I tried..It was just SO great to see him, that I didn't care if my photos were somewhat blurry! I sat entranced, watching him until the mosquitoes drove me inside... 

I leave for home tomorrow and thought "What a wonderful farewell it would be if he sings tonight!"...The haunting call of the loon says "cottage" to me. and brings back many childhood memories. The call of the loon and the song of the whippoorwill were always part of our cottage experience...

So, Hey Mr. Loony Tunes ..sing a song for me...I'm not sleepy and there is no place I'm going to..(until tomorrow that is)...In the jingle jangle morning I'll come looking for you...to say good-bye ..Hope to see you next time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.