Marionb

By Marionb

Red Sky at Morning....

...Sailor's Warning...

I was up really early this morning and started my day sitting down on the dock with my coffee watching the prelude to the sunrise. The sky was amazingly beautiful.....and very very red...hmmm..That little rhyme mom used to recite came to mind.. the one about red skies in morning not boding well for a day on the water? And drat, I actually had plans to go to town to shop with my brother. We were also going to visit a friend of his I had never met and check out her condo which has a stunning view over Georgian Bay. Our intent was to be back down to the cottage around lunch time as the weather forecast was threatening rain, wind and thunder storms for the afternoon. 

We got to town early, but the rain had already begun - forget the part about  "afternoon" rain!  We started with the visit with my brother's friend and what was meant to be a short "dropping by", turned out to be a VERY long and enjoyable visit..of hours! There was no chance now of getting home before the rain...the rain was already there, and  had not stopped, not one little bit..We completed our errands and were totally soaked for the ride home in the boat; it was not  the greatest of rides! 

As I sit here doing this posting, it is really wild out there..the rain is still pounding down, the wind is howling, the trees are whipping about like crazy and every now and again, something bangs ominously...But the power is still on, so I was able to cook my dinner, and the TV satellite signal is still operating so I can continue watching some of the Olympics coverage..and the lights are still on so reading is an option...All is good..

As for tomorrow? It doesn't look as if we will have a red sky tonight..so I guess there is no "sailor's delight" in the offing....  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.