The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

"Moon rocks"

That's what the book calls them. You might know them as rock cakes. I made them as a trial after I came back from a five hour session with the children. The weather had turned hot again, and they were in and out of the garden. We made wholemeal bread rolls and shapes and faces, which the parents enjoyed, the children not so much! We did this in the garden, (apart from the oven part), and this was a first for me.

After doing some shopping en route home, I staggered through our front door, overheated. Another 10,500 steps. The grow-mate (see yesterday's blip) had not been collected. Apparently the hired Man with Van had not turned up. Another plan is underway, involving a near-neighbour but not me, thankfully. CS is brokering the deal.

I've had my own no-show. Two of my friends who agreed to return to Hellens manor to see the house on Wednesday, have now pulled out. One of them is the driver. The trip has been booked for ages. They both have good reasons for cancelling, but it's frustrating because GG has broken her wrist and I can't drive. Now GG is quite keen on going with some people that I really don't want to spend a whole day with! This is turning into such a faff. Last year I booked nothing. Then sometimes there was nothing to do, even after the first lockdown ended and it was summer, because nothing had been booked. This year I've booked various events for various people, but the unexpected keeps happening, and meanwhile, the trips have been paid for on my credit card. Grrrr..

Update: two more people have been found for the Wednesday trip, and we have a driver! Hurrah! But meanwhile, a book that I ordered online for Dave has gone astray! Sigh

I'm back with the little boys again tomorrow, but only for three hours. I have plans for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.